Politics Technology

FG Inaugurates Advisory Group on Technology and Creativity

The Federal Government, yesterday, inaugurated the Advisory Group on Technology and Creativity in the Nigerian Industrial Policy and Competitiveness Advisory Council. The event was presided over by His Excellency Yemi Osinbajo, Vice President of Nigeria.

Members are expected to work closely with Government and other relevant stakeholders to articulate support, implementation policies and initiatives that creates enabling environment for creativity and innovation.

The Advisory Group consists of 56 members drawn from Ministerial Caucus and members of President Buhari’s administration, Venture Capital and Innovation Hubs, Technology Companies, and Creativity sectors. Mohammed Ibrahim Jega, Founder Start-Up Arewa, Bosun Tijani of CCHub, Ngozi Dozie of PayLater, Kunle Afolayan, Don Jazzy, Waje and Banky-W were among the inaugurated members.

The Federal Executive Council approved the establishment of the Advisory Council in March 2017 as a vehicle for partnering with the private sector on the industrialization agenda for expertise, capital, policy development and support.

In a chat with our correspondents, Mohammed Jega explained that “the Advisory Group has been saddled with the responsibility of facilitating innovation ecosystem for national growth and development across technology and creativity sectors, in the area of finance, infrastructure, policy incentives, regulations, intellectual property rights, distribution and marketing, as well as capacity building”.

Abiola Ogundeko of NACCIMA noted that “the Council’s inauguration of Advisory Group demonstrates Government’s commitment for policies and arrangements that will increase the levels of access to finance for young entrepreneurs in the innovation and creative sectors, including through intervention funds in development banks, as well as a policy environment for venture capital and crowd funding initiatives”.



(Samuel Odebowale, Senior Editor)